National Park municipalities

The National Park Hohe Tauern extends on an area of over 1.800 km². Its surface stretches over 30 National Park municipalities - a local municipality is considered to belong to the National Park if its territory stretches proportionately in the National Park Hohe Tauern. Mostly this does not apply for public owners because many private real estate lie in the protected area.

The municipalities are the starting point for the discovery of the National Park. Additionally to hotels and further excellent accommodation facilities guests also find information centres in these towns where they can gather detailed information about the Park. Also many facilities propose here various leisure time programmes for guests (swimming pools, rafting, further leisure time activities in summer, toboggan runs and several skiing areas located close to the National Park.)

National Park municipalities in Carinthia:

Großkirchheim (seat of the National Park management office), Heiligenblut, Mörtschach, Winklern, Mallnitz (BIOS Visitors’ Centre), Obervellach, Malta

National Park municipalities in the Salzburg region:

Mittersill (seat of the National Park management office, National Park Centre Mittersill), Krimml, Wald im Pinzgau, Neukirchen, Bramberg, Hollersbach, Uttendorf, Kaprun,  Fusch, Rauris, Bad Gastein, Hüttschlag, Muhr

National Park municipalities in East Tyrol:

Matrei i. O. (seat of the National Park management office, Visitors’ Centre Nationalparkhaus Matrei), Prägraten, Virgen, St. Jakob im Def, St. Veit im Def., Hopfgarten, Kals am Gr., Nußdorf-Debant, Iselsberg, Dölsach

Submit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter